Part 2: The Transition

Missed Part 1?  Read it here!

 

I cursed the moon again.  This just wasn’t anywhere near how I thought things would go.  But I didn’t have any other better ideas so whatever, if Kyle wanted me to go see my sister, then fine.  I walked down to the station and took the damn train to Monica.

Her house was only a few streets down from the train.  It was really dark now and I shivered.  The dim streetlights glowed as moths dodged in and out of them.  The silence surrounded me, leading me faster and faster to my sister’s house.  There were no stars in the sky, just the moon.  The big fat bleached bright moon.

I walked up to the front door and rang the doorbell.  My sister’s feet pattered to the door and she huffed as she saw me looking back at her through the window.  She swung it open and stood there in her pajamas.

“What are you doing?”

“Kyle told me that I had to come here.”

“Oh boy.  Okay, come in.”

She sat me down in the living room with a mug of tea and a blanket.

“So what did he say?” she asked.

“Nothing.  He just said it was time.  How did he know it was time?  Do I not get a say in this?”

“I’m sorry, but you really don’t. It’s just part of life, you know,” she paused, taking a sip of her tea.  “Tim left me when I was 19 also.  It was just time.  I didn’t believe it at the time, but that’s just how things work.”

“But Monica, I literally have no idea what I am supposed to do now.”

“I think you do.  You’ve just been too dependent on Kyle.  You can do this.”

I sipped my tea.  I clenched the mug and felt it’s warmth penetrate my palms.  

“So now what?” I looked at her.  My eyes begged for answers.  My lungs filled with pathetic, desperate breath.  I felt the back of my throat swell and my vision became clogged with tears.

“See, this is why he needed to leave, Jenny.  You need to learn to be strong and independent.”

“I know,” I blubbered.  “I just miss him.  I miss him and I’m so mad at him at the same time.”

“Well, you still have him by phone for a little bit to ease into the transition.”

I nodded.  I lifted the mug to my mouth and sipped, holding it there longer to allow the aroma to fill my nose.  Except my congested nose now prevented me from any sense of smell.

“So now what?” I whined.

“He’ll let you know.”

“When?”

“Soon.”

My phone rang.  I heard it from my bag at the front door.  I jumped up, ran to my bag, and answered my phone.  It was him.

“Kyle?”

“How’s Monica?”

“She’s fine.  But now what?”

“Are you ready for your first assignment?”

“Kyle…”

“You’re ready for it, I know it.  Do you trust me?”

“Yes…”

“There’s detailed instructions in your backpack.  Follow them carefully.  I will only be available at certain steps, but don’t worry.”

“What?  Were they in my backpack the whole time?”

“Just read them.  I have to go.”

“Wait–”

“I’ll call you at step seven.”

“Wait, Kyle–”

And he hung up.  Typical.  I rummaged through my bag and found an envelope.  Shaking my head, I opened it and removed a key, a plane ticket, and a piece of paper.  The first item on the list:

  1. Take the flight to Connecticut tomorrow.  Your ticket is in the envelope.  Safe travels.

 

 

 

Image by crane.com

Leave a Reply

